A short personal testimony, “I Come to the garden alone”

IMG_8419

Oh, how these words touch my soul. “I come to the garden alone while the dew is still on the roses, And the voice I hear falling on my ear, The Son of God discloses And He walks with me and He talks with me, And He tells me I am his own; And the joy we share as we tarry there, None other has ever known.”

As young teenagers, my sisters; Chris, Cindy, Linda and I, loved this song. We attended a little country Methodist church in the town of Roanoke, WV. This church is now under the Stonewall Jackson Reservoir but it still brings such sweet memories to my mind.

One of these memories stems from this song. Every Sunday the song leader would ask what hymns the congregation would like to sing. Every Sunday either I or one of my sisters raised our hand and requested, “I Come to the Garden Alone”. Sometimes this caused a little murmur of oh no, not again (In a loving way). Eventually, we did not have to raise our hands because this became a regular Sunday morning congregational song.

I now have a beautiful flower garden and while I work or just sit in it to enjoy its beauty, I think of this little Country Church. I have even found a way to use my garden to encourage others.

These people making teenage girls feel loved and a part of the church helped shape our Christian lives. We are still serving God and still feel his love.

P.S. We still love this song.

https://amazon.com/author/dgladwell

#Christian #Flowers #Inspiration #ChristianInspiration #God #ICometotheGardenAlone #Blog #blogger #Christianblog #Christianblogger #Christianauthor #Testimony

Leave a comment