What will we do in Heaven?

heaven jobs-page-001

Some people are under the misconception that we will just float around in heaven with no responsibilities at all.  I say we will work and be happy doing it. So how can knowing Jesus be a perk if we must work in heaven? Read and see!

Billy Graham also thought as I do, “God never intended for people to be idle and unproductive – on earth or in Heaven. Heaven is about serving – not ourselves, but Jesus Christ…” We will create new things, study the world, and do the kinds of work that we love and is pleasing to God. We will never have to worry about hating our jobs in Heaven.”

Lesli White, the author of Will We Work and Have Jobs in Heaven?” said this, “One major difference between work on earth and work in heaven is that we won’t grow tired or weary with our work in heaven. Work became a burden following Adam and Eve’s rebellion against God but the minute we enter heaven, the curse is lifted. We will be delighted in our work there.” Revelation 22:3 KJV And there shall be no more curse: but the throne of God and of the Lamb shall be in it; and his servants shall serve him:

The curse was placed after Adam and Eve sinned in the Garden of Eden, Genesis 3:17 KJV  And unto Adam he said, Because thou hast hearkened unto the voice of thy wife, and hast eaten of the tree, of which I commanded thee, saying, Thou shalt not eat of it: cursed is the ground for thy sake; in sorrow shalt thou eat of it all the days of thy life;

Before this curse, Adam worked but it was enjoyable work. After the curse, all man’s work became hard and strenuous to provide food for themselves and their families.

Why should we expect to be any different than God and his son Jesus? Therefore, we will work. John 5:17 KJV But Jesus answered them, My Father worketh hitherto, and I work.

In the parable of the pounds we see that we will have some sort of authority or work in heaven, be it over others or as workers. Our jobs or positions will be based on our life of servitude to God on earth. Length of salvation does not play into the picture; however, sharing God’s word does. If you have not accepted Jesus as your savor you will not be rewarded but will find eternal damnation.

Some often wonder why the man that hid his pound in a napkin had his pound taken away and given to the one with ten. The answer is simple, the man was not saved and believe not that Jesus was the Savior. Again, the saved are rewarded and the unsaved likewise receive their due.  Luke 19:26-27 For I say unto you, That unto every one which hath shall be given; and from him that hath not, even that he hath shall be taken away from him. 27 But those mine enemies, which would not that I should reign over them, bring hither, and slay them before me.

I believe in heaven we will have similar tasks as on earth because of the mention of cities in the parable of the pound. Cities have all kinds of jobs necessary to keep its wheels turning. Jobs from government to street cleaners. Whatever our job will be, it will not be burdensome, and we will be happy to be in the presence of God and his son Jesus. Jesus told us this while on earth, Luke 11:28-30 KJV Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.

Our main and most important job will be to glorify God. Some will have the pleasure of being at the foot of his throne and some just by serving in heaven.
Revelation 7:9 After this I beheld, and, lo, a great multitude, which no man could number, of all nations, and kindreds, and people, and tongues, stood before the throne, and before the Lamb, clothed with white robes, and palms in their hands. (reference to Psalm Sunday when palms were placed in front of Jesus, only this time we will truly be worshipping and glorifying God).
Revelation 7:14-15 KJV And I said unto him, Sir, thou knowest. And he said to me, These are they which came out of great tribulation, and have washed their robes, and made them white in the blood of the Lamb. 15 Therefore are they before the throne of God, and serve him day and night in his temple: and he that sitteth on the throne shall dwell among them.

I am glad we will have jobs in heaven. I speak from the experience of being retired. For years I looked forward to not having to work everyday but upon retirement found that I cannot sit and do nothing. One of the perks of being retired is I can do things when I want or take off and enjoy local beauty with my husband. I believe Heaven will be like this. I cannot imagine an eternity of doing nothing and being bored. I believe there will be work, abundance of love, fun and beauty for all. Most of all we will find our greatest pleasure will be glorifying God.

Leave a comment