Misconception #1 You are stuck where you are!

I’m going to give you a little information from the bible & a short testimony.

People are so mentally & spiritually messed up.  They believe the lack of family money or where they live means they must live in poverty all their life. Not saying money doesn’t help, but so does work ethics and ambition.  God only promises us food and clothing, the rest is up to YOU!  Matthew KJV 6:30-33 “Wherefore, if God so clothe the grass of the field, which to day is, and to morrow is cast into the oven, shall he not much more clothe you, O ye of little faith? 31 Therefore take no thought, saying, What shall we eat? or, What shall we drink? or, Wherewithal shall we be clothed? 32 (For after all these things do the Gentiles seek:) for your heavenly Father knoweth that ye have need of all these things. 33 But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.”

The bible also tells us why some people are in poverty & some are not; Proverbs 20:13 (KJV)  Love not sleep, lest thou come to poverty; open thine eyes, and thou shalt be satisfied with bread.” Oh my goodness, you mean if you sleep and lay around your home you will live in poverty? Exactly right!  Does it mean if you work you will be rich?  Not necessarily, but you will have enough to feed you & your family.

Growing up my family never had much in terms of money, but I had a rich childhood. My parents married young, dad worked seasonal road construction (back then the pay wasn’t great), and mom became a wonderful house wife.  They soon had five daughters to feed and clothe.  Mom made every dime stretch.  They often went without things for themselves.

I don’t consider my family as living in poverty, but we were far from rich. I can remember at times of having only three school dresses, which meant wearing two of them twice a week until you outgrew them and then pass them down to one of your sisters.  We each had one pair of shoes that we wore until they wore out or we out grew them.  Other times mom made us some fantastic outfits, or found great deals at rummage sales etc. Mom could look at anything & make it.  She crocheted and sewed things for our home. My parents always found a way to provide our needs, we were so loved.

I watched my parents work hard, they never looked-for handouts.  I watched their work ethics and was a witness to it paying off.  Dad eventually went from a drill helper to a Drilling & Blasting Superintendent, and companies began seeking him.

There is so much more I could say about my wonderful parents, but I want to stress my early childhood was not rich according to financial standards.  I never went hungry or lacked anything to wear.  I was almost 12 when I got my first job, (and for the record my parents didn’t make me).  I babysat for my cousins while my aunt & uncle worked.  I can still remember the feeling of pride when I bought my first dress with my own money. We moved at the end of that summer and as a young teen, I soon found out I could make money babysitting for other people.  Often on the weekends & an occasional school night, I would babysit in the evenings.  I thought the money was great .50 cents an hour, but there was one couple who paid a whole .75 cents an hour. I even found a lady who worked for IBM that wanted someone to help her clean twice a week (I think she paid $1.00/hr and I worked 2 hrs).  Mom and dad still provided all my needs, but I had a new-found pride in supplementing my clothing. 

In my late teens, I worked as a waitress (now that is hard work & you should always treat them with respect).  Here is where most of the young people mess up.  They think flipping a burger or being a waitress is beneath them.  Get over yourself, you have to start someplace. My first waitress job I made $1.00/hr and quit it for a job that paid .85 cents/hr but you got tips.  I was almost 19 before I got my first break as an office clerk for a road construction company.  When the job was completed I was offered an office manager job with the same company, but I would have to move.  Of course, I was in love with my husband to be and did not want to move.  I became a receptionist/accts receivable clerk for a lumber company.  I worked hard and became an Executive Secretary for the same company, which also had grown into a very large lumber, dimension & export business.

I have been happily married to the most wonderful man on earth for forty years.  We have a home, a family and a good life.  Neither one of us got where we are by being lazy.  It may not be your dream, but it’s mine.

What I am trying to say is, NOTHING is keeping you from doing the same.  You want something, work for it (there is plenty of work out there).  You appreciate life more and there is no better feeling of accomplishment in the world. God didn’t make us to sit on our bottoms with our hands out and watch someone else work.  He expects us to work to eat.  Do a study someday on a slothful man (lazy man) God has no pity on them.

I pray you have great success in achieving a better life for yourself.  Keep in mind though, sometimes you don’t get exactly what you want, but most of the time what God provides for you is better than what you plan. You just need to be willing to work and let God do the rest. 

Leave a Reply

